Mimi the Travelling Cat

Or supposedly. She was another Millie Makes kit and I was initially thinking of just making the suitcase, but my Nanna spotted it and asked for the whole cat. She’s pretty cute, so I didn’t mind.

I took progress pictures as well, which I’m proud of. Here she is as just a head, with what I believe to be the body in the corner:

img_6424_1

img_6427_1

img_6441_1

You can see various piles of felt pieces in the background waiting to be sewn together, in the one above is the suitcase and a bow.

img_6446_1

img_6450_1

This is the cute little suitcase I was originally going to make on its own. As this suitcase is going with Mimi, I may need to make a second one for me.

img_6454_1

Aaaaaaand the finished cat! *confetti*

img_6456_1

The bow strategically covers up some messy stitches, which is a bonus. The instructions also said to blanket stitch all the edges, but I find it easier to whipstitch them, so I aborted the blanket stitch plan after the head.

Her arms and legs move and she stands about 16cm (roughly 6-and-a-half inches) tall, to “easily fit in your pocket”. I don’t see that happening, personally.

Anyways, see ya!

FillieFanatic

5 thoughts on “Mimi the Travelling Cat

  1. Claire October 2, 2016 / 4:09 am

    Aww, she’s adorable!! The tiny stitches are really impressive. I love the dress and suitcase, you did an amazing job…you should totally make another suitcase for yourself, or Sarah! 🙂

    Like

  2. spud October 1, 2016 / 6:10 pm

    She does not look very happy! But come to think of it you don’t see many happy looking cats. Dogs are different and always happy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

